Lehigh Valley Engineering Council Meeting

Minutes of May 3, 2007


Council Meeting Held at Lehigh University Packard Lab 325


  1. Bernie Telatovich called the meeting to order at 6:05 P.M.
  2. Roll Call of Attendees


Bernard Telatovich ASCE ECLV                       Agnes Muranyi – SWE SME

Don Talhelm IEEE                                                Elizabeth Horahan AICHE SWE


  1. Welcome Guests  - PSLS and ASM are new members.  Contact at PSLS is Nick Remy.  Contact at ASM is Ryan DiSabella (or Ryan Deacon)


  1. Treasurer’s Matters -Tom will provide a full accounting report. regarding the banquet once all debts are paid or payments received. Contact Brad Pease for PSPE outstanding.


  1. Web-Site – Discussion about this information source was initiated.  Agnes followed up with information.  A discussion regarding next years hosting fee was held. A discussion regarding E-Week and updates on the web site was held.


  1. Improved Membership (New Organizations-New People) This issue is always a topic of good discussion, however, the difficulties of membership in our type or organization is well know.   A discussion on organization activity and LVEC sponsorship of organizations was initiated concurred with the membership discussion.


  1. Sponsorships: A discussion about LVEC sponsorships in the past year was held.  Bernie Telatovich will provide a preliminary draft of Guidelines that the Board should look at when allocating funds for purposes commensurate with the LVEC purpose and mission.  A motion to sponsor The Hillside School Science Fair ($200.00) was approved.  Tom to relay funds to Bernie who will present to The Hillside School.


  1. Tau Beta Pi discussion regarding upcoming events was initiated by Elizabeth Horahan.  A discussion regarding the 50th annual college competition/papers among IEEE organizations and/or members was initiated by Don Talhelm.


  1. Meeting Calendar – A discussion was held regarding scheduling of meetings during the summer and possibly becoming concurrent with the school year calendar. 


  1. Succession Planning – Nominations in MAY

Chairperson - Agnes Muranyi

Vice-Chair   - Open

 Secretary    - Elizabeth Horahan

Treasurer      -  Tom Reilly


  1. Next Meeting scheduled for June 14, 2007 at 6:00 P.M.  Meeting adjourned at 7:05.